Wednesday, September 19, 2018

Swayambhutaye Namastute...

Krishna, Shiva or Ganesha...there exists a self-manifested form of power relevant in Hindu Mythology and Culture. Swayambhu- in Sanskrit means "self-existing''. Just like our own chetna, consciousness, the emotions are self-existing. Ganesha, also Ganapati or Vinayaka is the God of wisdom and remover of obstacles hence,'Vighna-harta'. AshtaVinayaka- the eight forms of Ganesha is found in the temples spread across Maharashtra.

1. Moreshwar, 79 Kms East of Pune.

2. Siddhivinayak of Siddhatek, 100 kms East of Pune

3. Ballaleshwar, 66 kms South of Panvel, Navi Mumbai

4. Varadavinayak, 65 kms East of Mumbai towards Lonavala.

5. Chintamani, 27 kms East of Pune

6. Girijatmaj, 96 kms North of Pune

7. Vighneshwar, 88 kms North of Pune

8. Mahaganpati of Ranjangaon, 52 kms East of Pune.

All these holy temples are a must visit if you believe in the power of Ganesha. Every year Lord Ganesha visit the Earth on his Vehicle 'Mooshak' ie. Mouse or a Rat. 

Believers say the mouse symbolizes desires.Also in Sanskrit, mooshaka (mouse) is derived from the root moosh which means stealing. As a rat or a mouse is considered a common household pest which may harm the harvest and stored grains, thus it appeared to be a vighna in ancient times, an impediment that needed to be checked in those days. One of the theories suggests that Ganesha being the master of the rat or mouse demonstrates his function as Vigneshwar (Lord of Obstacles) and hence served a possible role as a village 'deity' who later rose to greater prominence. 

Hindu Mythology has essence of the seasons and tales associated with it. As we find the knowledge sharing either through written manuscripts called Vedas and Puranas so does Hindu Philosophy branching out to Shruti( the one that is to be heard) and Smruti(the one that is to be remembered). Lord Ganesha is considered the 'Pratham Devta' or the first God to be worshipped and also is known to write the sacred texts of Mahabharata narrated by Saint Ved Vyas to 'Ek-danta' Ganesha. It is believed that the present time is KaliYuga, which started at around 3100 BC with the end of the Kurukshetra War (or Mahabharata war).

Puranas are the holy religious texts of Hindu Mythology that are a part of Vedas. They come under Shruti Philosophy of Hindu-ism. Ganesha Purana illustrates the four different vehicles of Lord Ganesha,ie. Mohotkata in the Satyuga or Kritayuga uses a lion,Moreshwar or Mayureshwar in Tretayuga uses a Peacock, Gajanan in  Dwaparyuga uses a mouse and Dhumraketu in Kaliyuga uses a horse. Thus we have four incarnations of Ganapati symbolizing four eras or the cycle of Yugas. All the four incarnations are symbolically suggesting the removing of obstacles by Lord Vighna-harta Ganesha.

Thus, Ganesha like Vishnu( mostly the dieties as Parsurama, Rama, Krishna and Budhdha) and Shiva has always been there in all the yugas symbolically. We just need to acknowledge his omnipresence in our daily life and take blessings to get wisdom and pray for the removal of all the obstacles from our neverending cycle of life.Om Ganapataye Namaha.

So let us all cheer in unison and pray to Lord Ganesha-
Ganpati Bappa Morya,Purchya Varshi Laukar ya
(Oh Lord Ganesha bless us and visit us next year quickly, we eagerly wait for you)

~PS~ 19.09.2018~